The Independent on Wearing a Safety Pin to Show Support for Immigrants

I’ve put up a couple of posts today about the massive growth in racist incidents after the Brexit vote. Unfortunately, some of the Nazis lurking in British society have decided that the vote to leave the EU now means that it’s permissible and accessible to intimidate immigrants to our great nation. One of the pieces I put up was sent by Michelle, one of the commenters here, who posted a link to a pamphlet from a Peace Studies prof at Bradford University on personally challenging and standing up to racist incidents.

Joanna, one of the other commenters to this blog, has also sent in her comment on the piece, which links to an article published on Tuesday in the Independent. It’s another great piece on how people can show their support for immigrants against rising racism. An American woman in London, Allison, has started a campaign to encourage people to wear a safety pin to show their solidarity. It’s inspired by the ‘I’ll ride with you’ campaign in Australia, which was launched last year after the Sydney Café killings. Here’s the comment and the link:

hi beast have you seen this?

http://indy100.independent.co.uk/article/safetypin-the-simple-way-to-show-solidarity-with-the-uks-immigrant-population–ZJzeRPz6kHW

She also assures us that she’s going to wear one!

Of course, to some of us of a certain, wearing safety pins as jewelry brings us back to the heady days of 1977, when the Sex Pistols were in charts scandalising everyone, and in addition to brightly coloured hair and mohicans, punks were also sporting safety pins through their noses. This was when Johnny Rotten, now John Lydon, was intoning ‘No future! No future!’ I think it’s a great idea that the safety pin has come back as a fashion item to show no future for their racists after Brexit.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “The Independent on Wearing a Safety Pin to Show Support for Immigrants”

  1. joanna Says:

    Thank you Beastie!

  2. joanna Says:

    I was only 6yrs in 77 so I don’t remember that time.
    I only heard about wearing a safety pin today.

    I also found out that I will lose my voluntary job in two weeks because Hull college considers over 25s as worthless to teach literacy to. They have stopped all funding that was used to teach people who can’t read!

    How can anyone survive through DWP conditionality with being able to read, or go onto college?

    These are people who have been failed by the system, which is getting more and more complicated to survive through, even for people who do have skills.

    I used to volunteer as a mentor for Humbercare and the probation trust, but that ended when all funding was pulled on one proviso, that each mentor was to hold a degree from university. I don’t mean to be rude but some university graduates have never lived in my world, or the world of an offender, how can they ever understand what drives people to desperation!

    I have rang my local paper, I already have an appointment for a reporter to ring me tomorrow afternoon, but I don’t know if what I say will be effective, maybe I should add what has happened to me and how fantastic Humbercare has been in enhancing my life.
    I don’t have any family but those great people there have made me feel like I belong, now I have nothing, I am too scared to go making friends, hence why I only have one best friend!

    Sorry for babbling much!

    • beastrabban Says:

      I’m really sorry that this has happened to you, and I think you’re doing a superb job teaching literacy to adults. And as a graduate myself, I think you’re right about the problem with many university students not having the kind of life experiences you have, which have enabled you to have a much better understanding of people, who have had troubled childhoods, been in care, or offended.

      Don’t worry about what you will say to the reporter. It sounds very much to me that you know exactly what you’re talking about, and will say exactly what’s needed to the journo. And I think you’d be right to mention Humbercare and all the excellent work they did for you.

      I’m sorry you find it difficult making friends, but I’m not surprised, from what you’ve told me about your background. Well, you’ve got some friends here, and I think you’ll eventually have more in the world beyond the Net.:)

  3. vondreassen Says:

    Racism is just an excuse – people who attack other people are just thugs.

    • beastrabban Says:

      Yes, particularly with the NF, BNP and the rest of the alphabet soup of Nazis and violent weirdoes. The National Front deliberately recruited football hooligans, and then moaned about how, instead of becoming Aryan warriors – the mixture of thug and intellectual Oswald Mosley hailed as the ‘thought-deed man’, they were left with just thugs. For those, racism was just an excuse to beat some poor soul up.

  4. joanna Says:

    I think after watching many documentaries about the Nazis, people will grab onto any potential solution possible no matter how evil , but people will also beLIEve the propaganda attached to the solution, if they have had any negative experience small or large.
    I have noticed that bad things are easier to believe than good, it only takes a few beings without empathy for others to stir the pot of hate.
    I hope this makes sense, but it is how I see it.

Leave a Reply

